1. Home
  2. Behaviour
  3. How to Reset Student Actions

How to Reset Student Actions

Note: All pages below are subject to having relevant Roles and Permissions.

The Reset Student Actions Tool enables you to clear Behaviour Points from selected Actions for selected Students.

From the left Menu go to Modules > Behaviour > Routines > Reset Student Actions.

From this area, you must first determine whether you will be Resetting Points or Starting a New Points Total.

  • Reset Current Points  –  will reset the Points for the selected Actions to 0. This will completely remove the previous Points total.
  • Start New Points Total  – will clear Points for the selected Actions to 0 but the previous score is retained and can be retrieved from the Student Points Report. If this option is selected, you will be able to enter a Start Date for the New Points Total to start from.
  • Recalculate Points  –   will enable the recalculation of the Action Points Totals. This should ONLY be used when there is a mistake related to an Action Adjustment or an Action Reset Schedule. Clicking on the Recalculate button will also prompt a warning. 

When looking at the differences between Reset Current Points and Start New Points Total below are two examples of how this looks under Student Profile > Behaviour > Actions.

In the example below we can see an Action called 15MinDet which has a threshold of -5 points has been triggered.

Note: If Start New Points Total is selected then an additional row will be added to the Action panel in the Student Profile EVERY TIME you select Start New Points Total which could show multiple rows in the Action Panel.

If Reset Current Points is selected then you will only see one row in the Action Panel in the Student Profile.

Note: Please contact the Helpdesk before using this option.

You must now determine whether you are searching by Class or by Student – this selection will update the Find Tool accordingly.

You can now select the Actions for the Action Reset.

Use either the Group Name or Student Name (depending on previous selection) or use the find tool to locate the Class/Student of your choice.

If you have completed the selection of your Actions and you have chosen the Group option, you will see a Confirmation Message in red text which shows the Actions which will be Reset and your selected Groups.

Once you have made all of the required selections you can proceed with the reset, using either the Reset button (for Reset Current Points) or the Apply button (Start New Points Total).

The Schedule button will allow a scheduled time and day for the the reset to be run automatically, for example running it at the end of each term to begin the next term with new Points.

Add a Job Description for the Schedule and select when you want the Schedule to occur using the dropdown list.

In this example we will use the Termly option.

Now chose whether when you want the Schedule to run On the Day following last day of Term or First day of subsequent term.

Enter a Time the Schedule will run.

Enter the Dates the Schedule will Run From and Until

Click on the Create button.

You can now view the Schedule by clicking on the Tasks button.

You can EditDelete and Run Task by clicking on the appropriate button.

Updated on June 29, 2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Noticed a Missing Guide?
Can't find the guide you need?
Email Us