1. Home
  2. Setup
  3. How To Export & Import Roles

How To Export & Import Roles

Note: All pages below are subject to having relevant Roles and Permissions.

When a new Role is required but the User does not wish to start from scratch, the Export and Import process is a useful way of taking an existing Role and re-importing it as a new one, before editing the permissions in the newly created Role.

Equally, if a test database is being used ahead of the going live, using this function is a time-saving exercise as Roles can be created in advance and then re-imported after the Go Live date.

From the left Menu go to Config > Setup > Roles & Permissions.

Selecting Export will produce an instant download in xml format.

To re-import the Role, select the Import option.

The Role displayed in the dropdown is immaterial here as it plays no initial part in the process.

Browse and select the xml file to be uploaded, if the Import is to replace an Existing Role use the dropdown to map to the Role required.

If importing as a New Role, then switch the radio button to New Role and give the New Role a name in the box provided and click OK.

Accept the Warning about overwriting any existing Role. The New Role will appear in the Roles and Permissions dropdown window ready to be edited.

Updated on February 2, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Noticed a Missing Guide?
Can't find the guide you need?
Email Us

Leave a Comment