1. Home
  2. Setup
  3. How To Edit/Delete a Role and its Permissions

How To Edit/Delete a Role and its Permissions

Note: All pages below are subject to having relevant Roles and Permissions.

System Administrators can use this function to:

  • Edit Permissions within Role
  • Delete a Role
  • Add/Remove Users to and from a Role
  • Edit User Access to a Role

See also How to Export & Import Roles.

Edit Permissions Within a Role

From the left Menu, go to Config > Setup > Roles & Permissions.

To Edit, select the Role from the dropdown menu and then click on the Edit button.

Select the Module you wish to Edit the Permissions for from the Module dropdown.

For Permissions relating to Staff, Students, Groups and Others choose Framework from the Module dropdown.

For Permissions relating to Overview, Insight, Widgets and the Dashboards choose Profile from the Module dropdown.

Edit the Role details and its Permissions  using the tick boxes Access, New, Edit, Delete and Save when completed click on the Save button.

Reminder:  Ticking the boxes in the header row will assign Permissions to the whole module. Removing this tick removes all Permissions for that module.

Delete a Role

From the left Menu go to Config > Setup > Roles & Permissions.

To Delete, select the Role from the dropdown menu and then select the Delete button.

Note: A Role can only be Deleted if there are no Users associated with it. If this is the case, remove all associated Users first.

Add/Remove Users to and from a Role

Select the Role from the dropdown menu and then click on the Edit button.

Scroll down to the Allocated Users Section;

To Add a New User Select Add a New User

In the Select User box type the User name in Please select User and define the Start Date and End Date , these are the dates the User will have access to the Role. Click Ok to Save.

To Remove an User immediately click on the User and select Delete.

Edit User Access to a Role

To Edit the Start Date and End Date of when the Allocated User can have access to a Role, click the Pencil icon.

Amend the Start Date and End Date as required, these are the dates the User will have access to a Role.

Note: Leaving the End Date blank will mean the User will have access to the Role indefinitely (until an End Date is defined).

Click Ok to Save.

Updated on May 14, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Noticed a Missing Guide?
Can't find the guide you need?
Email Us

Comments

  1. Hi,
    I want to make sure teaching staff do not have access to personal details like address and DOB.
    How/where can these be reflected in Permissions?
    Thank you

    1. Hi Yuliya
      Thank you for your comments.
      If you look go to edit the role and choose Framework from the Module drop down and then choose Staff you will see all the options for access.
      Kind Regards
      Bromcom Training

Leave a Comment