1. Home
  2. Administration
  3. How To Add a Staff Contract and Role

How To Add a Staff Contract and Role

Note: All pages below are subject to having relevant Roles and Permissions.

From the left Menu go to Staff.

Highlight the Staff member, more than one can be selected and click on the View button.

From the options on the left select Contracts.

Click on the blue + top right to add a new entry.

All fields marked * are mandatory. 

  • Start Date – This will default to today, change if required
  • Contract Type – Select from the dropdown list
  • Post – Select from the dropdown list
  • Post (SWF) – Select the appropriate post for the member of staff for return in the School Workforce Census. If the staff member is not to be included in the Census, then ensure that the Do not include in Census box is ticked.

When completed click the Save button.

Once saved you can work your way across the other tabs displayed at the top, Roles, Pay, Payroll information, Suspensions and Working Hours.

Select the tab for Roles, then select the Click to Add New Role to create a new Role.

Select the required Role from the dropdown list and add a Start Date (and End Date if temporary), then click Save.

The Role will now display as Active.

Select the tab for Pay, then select the Click to Add New Pay to create new Pay Details.

Select the required options from the dropdown lists and add a Start Date (and End Date if temporary), then click Save.

The Pay information will now display as Active.

Select the tab for Payroll Information, select the required options from the dropdown lists and add a Post Offered Date and Post Accepted Date, then click Save.

If during the course of employment there are any Suspensions to the Contract, these can be added here. Select the Click to Add New Suspensions. Add a Start Date, End Date and any Notes then click Save.

Click on the Working Hours tab to add the Hours that will be worked for this Contract. Add the Start and End Times and click Save.

If you return to the Staff Details page you will see the Contract is now added.

There is also a Delete icon and a Copy icon, allowing an existing Role to be Deleted or Copied and updated.

Selecting a Contract and Delete will give a Confirmation Message, Cancel or Proceed.

Selecting the Copy option will allow the selected Contract and its information to be Copied into a new one. An End Date will be given to the Contract being Copied, this will be one day before the Copied Contract Start Date.

Updated on July 20, 2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles